The Bathroom: A Positive Change + DIY

If you’ve been living under a rock the last few months—perhaps neglecting your blog during that time—you might not be aware that plus signs have been slowly infiltrating the world of design. Kind of like the chevron, but not yet as popular, so ultimately, infinitely cooler.  Not too long ago, I came across this on Pinterest:

plus

Lovely, isn’t it? And while the decals shown here were for sale, compliments of Urban Walls, the price was in the neighborhood of $30 to $40. A neighborhood where there aren’t any bungalows, or any of the fair-weather bloggers who sometimes live in them. Instead, I thought, I might try my hand at making the decals myself.

MATERIALS
photo 1a

+ one metal ruler
+ one roll of washi tape, color of your choice – I used electrical tape. According to some people, this is a big no-no. But, I couldn’t get my hands on black washi tape, and I live in a bungalow, so I do what I want. You do it the right way, though. With washi tape.
 scissors – Mine are rusty. With the $$ I’ve saved in rent, I could probably spring for new pair. Note to self.

LET’S DO THIS
1

After doing my best to make a straight cut across the tape, I unwound it along the edge of the ruler from the 2.5″ mark to just beyond the ruler’s end. Using the end as a guide, I again did my best to cut straight across. You’ll notice there’s extra space before the first hashmarks on the ruler–my plus signs are actually longer than 2.5″, and I was fine with that. Plan the length of your decals according to your vision.

photo 3

Repeat the process directly across from the first piece of tape, on the other side of the ruler. Electrical tape has a tendency to bend and warp as your using it, another reason you should use washi tape. And really, if you’re set on perfection, consider that you get what you pay for when you buy the decals from the folks who make ’em for real.

photo 4

Peel the second piece of tape off, eye ball where the midpoints overlap, and place. Tada!

photo 5

Temporarily stick your new decal elsewhere while you make a few gazillion more. That way, you can go to work later, placing them all at once.

To review the state of my bathroom when I first moved in:

BR1(Venice had seen better days.)

And now:

bathroom 1bathroom2bathroom3

Not bad for the cost of a roll of tape, eh?

Update 11/14/13: This project was featured on Design*Sponge. See for yourself.

Leave a Reply

